The School Board... August 27, 2019 heard Board member, Susan Daiber, recite the Elkhart Promise. accepted with appreciation the following donations made to Elkhart Community Schools twenty-five \$50 gift cards from Dr. David Fairchild for teachers at Daly to supplement supplies and materials; \$500 from the Sarah Crane Foundation for Memorial's girls/boys cross country team for equipment; and a Tiara Pro girls bike and a Schwinn Lulu women's bike from Shawn and Mary Welling for distribution by social workers to two students.approved textbook rental fees for the 2019-2020 school year. approved proposed school fundraisers in accordance with Board policy. The funds raised through the listed activities are deposited into each school's extra-curricular fund. heard Kevin Scott, chief financial officer, state insurance claims are still performing better than the same point last year. approved the Revised Second Amendment to Agreement Between Elkhart Community Schools and ETHOS, Inc. Doug Thorne, district counsel/chief of staff, noted this is the revision to the second amendment on the Agreement which expires at the end of the 2019-2020 school year. A new Agreement will be negotiated in the Spring for Board review/approval.was presented revisions to Board Policy 3220.01C - Teacher Appreciation Grants, for initial consideration. Mr. Thorne stated this policy is reviewed annually.approved the submission of the following grants: an Indiana Department of Education: High Ability State Grant and Identification Grant in the amount of \$88,047 from ECS; and a Bayer Fund FIRST Robotics Grant to Bayer/Monsanto in the amount of \$5,000 from ElkLogics robotics team.

...... approved a consent agreement regarding unpaid time for a certified staff member.

...... confirmed employment of the following thirteen (13) certified staff members: Elizabeth Adams, grade 2 at Bristol; Loraine Benifiel, grade 2 at Woodland; Kristoffer Brady, health occupations at EACC; Christian Ciesielski, grade 6 at Pinewood; Kathy Cora, grade 3 at Osolo; Morgan Jordan, grade 1 at Woodland; Emily Morris, language arts at North Side; Brittany Rice, grade 5 at Woodland; Jeanette Schena, grade 1 at Roosevelt; Brittney Shipe, grade 5 at Beardsley; Gregg Sims, Jr., grade 6 at Pinewood; Brandon Steven, language arts at Memorial; and Kaylie VanGalder, math at Pierre Moran.

...... approved maternity leave for certified staff member, Helen Stegmann, intervention at Hawthorne.

....... approved the administrative reassignment of the following two (2) classified employees to certified staff members: David Cassell, special education at EAA; and Mason Neel, grade 6 at Cleveland.

- confirmed the resignation of the following seven (7) certified staff members: Elizabeth Adams, grade 2 at Bristol; Derek Conley, physical education at Pinewood; Denise Downing, special ed at Memorial; Emma Dugger, kindergarten at Pinewood; Judit Kovacs, math at West Side; Lisa J Miller, language arts at Memorial; and Sarah Wise, grade 2 at Riverview.
- confirmed the employment of the following three (3) classified employees: Rachel Magyar, bus driver at Transportation; Jennifer McKelvey-Galindo, secretary at Beardsley; and Susan McKibbin, bus driver at Transportation.
- confirmed the retirement of Katheryn Swinehart, paraprofessional at Eastwood.
- confirmed the resignation of the following eight (8) classified employees: Jenna Armstrong, paraprofessional at Feeser; Melissa Chavez, bus driver at Transportation; Michelle Genslinger, bus driver at Transportation; Elizabeth Hulsey, food service at Memorial; Regina Johnston, bus helper at Transportation; Casey Lemerand, speech pathology assistant at Daly/Bristol; Heather Macioce, bus driver at Transportation; and Toni Miller, paraprofessional at Bristol.
- approved leave requests for the following seven (7) classified employees: Kendra Crump, food service at Daly/Eastwood; Gregory Eby, food service at Pinewood; Yvonne Gefri, food service at North Side; Dinorah Kuehn, paraprofessional at Pinewood; Emily Lewandowski, social worker at Monger/Feeser; LeAnn Mehl, food service at Daly; and Natalie Murphey, social worker at Osolo/Eastwood.
- heard a representative from the transportation thank the district for the flag and improvements at the bus garage and also spoke regarding bus safety and stop arm violations.
- heard Superintendent Thalheimer, thank everyone for the smooth start of the school year, attendance at the mangy lion football game, the Elkhart Education Foundation kick-off classic, and the recognition of Mark Mow at the Junior Achievement banquet.
- heard Board member, Babette Boling, .comment on the success of the EEF kick-off classic, how students are excited and ready to move forward as one school, how the community needs to support our students and faculty.